{short description of image}

Page 2

We continue to answer your questions on this page, so keep sending them in! We haven't been totally stumped yet, but it may happen. Who knows?

mail buttonus your questions now! We will try to reply personally, and on this page, usually within 24 hours.
We have received several enquiries about snooker books currently available. We have an affiliate programme with Amazon, and any books sold help to keep this website going. So buy some books and you will benefit from our ability to stay online! To avoid repeating this information, use the following links:

Our Amazon Book Page

Our Book Reviews

Question 15: Date: 13/11/99 15:39:01 GMT Standard Time From: creyna@lullitec.com.pe (Carlos Reyna) To: Snookermag@aol.com
Hi, Graham First of all, thanks for answering so fast. Yes, I am meaning the "miss" rule, number two of the four options, and the affected player was really snookered in a very difficult situation, but in the third try, he almost did it but failed by one hair. He claimed that the effort of solving the shot was done and he refused to make another try having the balls replaced as before and in consecuence he was asking the other player to continue playing. The other player said to the commission that in british tournaments you can ask the opponent to repeat the shot with balls replaced in the previous position as many times as needed while the shot is not acomplished. Is that true? Carlos

Answer: Hi, Carlos! Thanks for clarifying your question, and in answer to the point about misses, a player can be asked to re-play the shot as many times as necessary. The professional record for the number of consecutive misses is 12, as mentioned recently on a UK snooker tournament. I understand the unfortunate player was Mark King against Stephen Lee, but I cannot remember which tournament or the year. Perhaps another reader can help? Graham

Question 16: Date: 26/11/99 18:27:25 GMT Standard Time From: M.J.Latham@durham.ac.uk (M.J.Latham)
I was playing a game on snooker the other day and I potted the white while the only remaining ball was the black. I'm sure I remember reading a rule book which said that this meant that you lose the frame. I told my opponent this but he said that I was wrong. Can you clear this up?

Answer: Thanks for visiting Cornwall Snooker Scene and asking your question. This question about potting the black was the subject of dispute only yesterday in my club, where one player could apparently still win after going in off i.e. he was less than seven points behind. However, the rules on this are quite clear: the first pot or foul on the black ENDS THE FRAME, UNLESS THAT MEANS THAT THE SCORES ARE THEN LEVEL. In that case, the black is respotted, players toss for break and the white is played from hand. Some people also believe that, if an in-off occurs, the black is played from where it finishes. This is also not true. Therefore, unless there are exactly seven points difference, the first pot or foul finishes the frame. If, of course, there are more than seven points difference, there should be no need to play out the black, unless some sort of aggregate points match is being played. Hope this clears up your dispute. Graham

Question 17: Date: 28/11/99 21:19:19 GMT Standard Time From: GARY@houston316.freeserve.co.uk (Gary Houston)
HI, I ENJOY SNOOKER. MY HIGHEST BREAK IS 42 AND I AM 16. I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW YOUR VIEWS ON THINKING AHEAD. I USUALLY THINK 4 OR 5 SHOTS AHEAD. IS THIS TOO FAR OR SHOULD I THINK FURTHER AHEAD? PLEASE WRITE BACK.

Answer (please comment on this, readers. It is only my personal opinion): Hi, Gary! It's funny you should ask this question, as it came up last night in the final of the UK Championship. Dennis Taylor said that you should probably think two or three shots ahead. This is so that you try to get position on the next but one ball in order to get a good angle on that ball for the one after. However, thinking ahead has its problems: (a) It may upset your concentration on the next pot (b) If you run out of position on the next shot all your thinking ahead is to no avail! The best thing, unless you are a superb potter and positional player, is to play position off your next pot into AREAS, where you have a choice of two or three different pots to continue the break. Every player has his/her (I had to put in 'her' so I'm not considered a male chauvinistic pig!) strengths and weaknesses, so concentrate for the moment on getting your next pot and position, as each positional requirement takes something away from your concentration on the pot. When playing position on reds and blacks, for instance, avoiding being dead straight on the black is important. Try to leave a slight angle, so that you can either stun, screw off at an angle or use the cushions for position on your next red. Taking the right red to free one or more others is also a useful factor to consider. Only the very best players can think more than a couple of shots ahead, so don't worry about that for the moment. Just concentrate on the next two shots until positioning becomes automatic. Keep working at it, and don't get discouraged if you have bad spells - we all do!

Question 18: Date: 30/11/99 18:05:36 GMT Standard Time From: robturner@f1racing.co.uk (Rob Turner)
Hi, I snookered my opponent. He took the shot and missed everything on the table. I asked him to retake it, and he missed everything on the table again. And then on his 3rd attempt he also failed to hit any ball on the table. I have heard that he lost the game by disqualification. Is this true? Thanks, Rob

Answer: Hi, Rob, thanks for your question. There are a couple of important factors here, and I have already gone some way to answering this question in an earlier reply (see Questions 14 and 15). First of all, was it a match game with a referee, and was the miss rule applied? Was he put in again from the position left, or were the balls replaced? However, the same situation applies whether this happened or not: if your opponent is snookered, he can miss the balls any number of times. All that happens is that he concedes points for each foul. If he is not snookered, then, on the second miss, he must be warned by the referee, and can then lose the frame on a third miss. I have never seen this happen in amateur snooker, although it has happened a couple of times in professional snooker, including to Steve Davis in Ireland (when he lost the match as well!). If, however, in the referee's opinion, he has not made a reasonable attempt to hit the ball on, he can also lose the frame after a warning (under the unfair conduct rule). In the case you mention, I should imagine he can go on missing if the balls are replaced. If, of course, he goes again from the position left, and is not then snookered, the referee should call 'foul and a miss' then on the second failure he must be warned, and next time lose the frame. Hope this complicated answer clarifies your query!

Question 19: Date: 06/12/99 01:02:14 GMT Standard Time From: mbfox@acr.net.au (Mark Fox)
Can you please email me the official list of world champions from 1923 - 1999. I like your site by the way

Answer: Dear Mark, Thank you for your question. Although I do not normally cover past tournament results, your question has inspired me to do some research, and I have now put up a new World Championship results page on my site. This will cover winners and runners-up from 1927-1999 (not contested in some years). Why do you ask for winners from 1923, by the way? The web URL is: http://members.aol.com/snookermag/world_champs.htm I hope to have this in place today. You can also access it from our Home Page. Please check it out later.

Question 20: Date: 30/12/99 20:27:49 GMT Standard Time From: bwhalley@home.com (Brian Whalley)
Two questions: 1. When nominating a colored ball as on - does the player have to declare the pocket it is going into? 2. When only colors are left - and say the player fouls off the blue i.e. sinking the blue ball and the white ball - is the blue respotted? -Brian Whalley

Answer: Hi again, Brian! Happy New Year to you and all readers and thanks for your questions. Obviously your first question is based on a pool notion of nominating your pocket, but in snooker you do not have to nominate a pocket, indeed, many times a ball is fluked into an unintended pocket, but it still counts! A colour (or indeed, one or more reds) may be potted in any pocket on the table, but any foul invalidates the points scored in that stroke.
Question 2: If, when potting any ball, a foul is committed, the points are not scored for that ball, and, if it is a colour, the colour is respotted. If it is a red, or reds, the ball(s) potted stay down. If of course a coloured ball is potted simultaneously, it is respotted on its correct, or highest available, spot. The points for the foul (usually value of the ball, or ball fouled, or four points, whichever is greater) are awarded to the opponent. Hope that answers your question.

Question 21 (multiple): Date: 30/12/99 20:06:37 GMT Standard Time From: asymons@easynet.co.uk (asymons) Reply-to: asymons@easynet.co.uk (asymons)
Hi - Cornishman in Sussex. Have just found your site today. I have enjoyed surfing the site but was not able to get to the Mining League Table page. Question 1 What would be your all time Cornish Snooker team? Persumably Barron, Bray and Gay pick themselves who would the other 3 be? (or is it 6 in a team I cannot remember). (Tell Charlie it's alphabetical order!!) Question 2 What would be your all time Cornish Billiard team? Question 3 As Barron did well against Reardon, Reardon did well against Roy Edmonds and Roy Edmonds did well against Barron: How well would Jonathan have done as a professional, considering Edmonds struggled (comparatively speaking)? Sorry about spelling. Andrew

Answers: Hi, Andrew! Nice to know that exiled Cornishmen still follow their county's snooker! Do I know you - did you play snooker in Cornwall? Let me know. In answer to your questions (personal opinion only):
Qu.1 As you say, Barron, Bray and Gay would be automatic. In a team of six I would also have to pick: Leighton Varcoe (Barron's sparring partner), Doug Thorncroft (the only player to beat Barron over seven frames - 4-1- and a great billiards player and tactician). The sixth player is very problematical, but Scott Bray, Alan Wills, Shaun Tripconey and Barry Scarlett would have to be considered. I would just go for Barry Scarlett, who almost achieved professional status. Note: Barry Scarlett has just taken up the game again (2003) after 20 years out, and is already making century breaks regularly.
Qu.2 I did not really follow billiards, but Doug Thorncroft and Dick Troon would have to be two (Dick won the title 7 times). I was a great fan of Charlie Kemp as a billiards player (I used to watch him in my youth) but there were many great players, including the Woolcocks, the Holmans, etc, in years gone by. There are also some good ones now, including Dave and Derek White, and Charlie Gay himself, who still makes centuries in local leagues.
Note: Since writing this Charlie Gay (now in his sixties) has improved the County Championship record to 201, beating Doug Thorncroft's 189.
Qu.3 Since Barron won the television tournament between amateurs and professionals, I am convinced he would have made it as a professional. There were not that many professionals around in his day, and he was as good as any of them. Ray Edmonds came into pro snooker when there were a lot of good players around, and he was past his prime. Jonathan never wanted to turn pro for personal reasons - perhaps the travelling involved and his family and shop commitments. Hope to hear from you again. Regards, Graham

Question 22: Date: 09/01/00 19:33:05 GMT Standard Time From: CAshby@netcomuk.co.uk (Claire Ashby) Reply-to: CAshby@netcomuk.co.uk (Claire Ashby) To: snookermag@aol.com
My father has asked if I could find out about the rules of snooker with regard to doubles. His particular question revolves around the order of play. In the scenario where A&B play C&D, 1) A&B win the toss, but decide not to break. Do C&D have a choice who breaks or do A&B dictate? 2) In the next game is it true that that A&B have the choice as to the order of play? ie can they dictate C or D to play after A or B has had the break? 3) What is the order in the 3rd game? Or do they toss up for it? Your help will be appreciated. Claire.

Answer: Hi, Claire, thanks for your question, which can often be a cause of controversy unless you play regular doubles snooker. In answer to your questions:
1) If C & D have been asked to break by A & B, then C &D decide who breaks. A & B can of course decide who follows who(m). It is usual to put your opponents in if you know their individual strengths, to gain a tactical advantage in alternate frames at least.
2) In the next frame A & B can decide who breaks, then C & D can change the original order if they wish, as to who goes next. This can often be important when the two players on a side are unequal in quality. Hence one player could 'tie up' a good potter while the other 'feeds off' the weaker player.
3) In the third frame, assuming it is best of three, or in the deciding frame of any number, the pair who broke in the first frame must also break off - there is no 'toss for break' as commonly believed. Incidentally, on a respotted black in any frame, either player in a pair may play first at the black, but the original order of play in the frame must be maintained i.e. if C was following A, he or she must continue to do so. Other points - it is a foul to go out of turn, but on a 'play again' request, the player making the foul must play next, with subsequent order maintained. Also, either player can break off when it is their turn to break i.e. in a five frame match player A can break three times without player B breaking. Hope this helps.

Question 23: Date: 26/1/00 From: potent@shoalhaven.net.au (Ronald Potent) Reply-to: potent@shoalhaven.net.au
Penalties-(a)(v1) causing the ball not on to enter a pocket, penalty is the value of the ball on (b)(111) causing a ball not on to enter a pocket, penalty is the value of the ball on or the ball concerned, whichever is the highest. In a match, striker hits the ball on, say blue, but cue ball glances off black and enters a pocket, is the penalty 5 or 7? Can the cue ball be considered to be "a ball not on" thereby earning a penalty under (b)(111) above ? I'd be very grateful for your interpretation and thank you very much for your time. I enjoy your site and wish you much success.

Answers: Hi, Ronald, and thanks for your questions and your nice comments about the site. In answer to your questions: 1. If you strike the blue, then go in off the black, the penalty is five points. If, of course, you had pocketed the black, the penalty would be seven. For in-off penalty purposes, the first ball struck is the important one. Incidentally, the minimum foul value is four, so this would of course apply to a foul on red, yellow or green.
2. Yes, the cue ball is a ball 'not on', but if it enters a pocket, the penalty is the value of the ball on (minimum four) or the ball struck first (e.g. seven for striking the black first). If the ball 'on' is a red or any other colour, striking the black first would be a foul in any case. Only the one foul is scored, of course. Hope this answers your queries.

Question 24: Date: 26/01/00 20:40:31 GMT Standard Time From: DAVIDCHOW@rocketmail.com (DAVID CHOW) To: snookermag@aol.com
Hi, Great site you have going here! Just one question, is "jumping" the white ball legitimate? Keep up the good work. David Chow.

Answer: Hi, David! Thanks for your kind comment on the site. In answer to your question, unlike in pool, the cueball may not jump over a ball in snooker. It may jump BEFORE striking the object ball provided it does not land on the far side of the ball. Even if it strikes the top of the ball, if it lands on the other side it is still a foul - penalty value of the ball 'on' (minimum four points) or the ball struck, whichever is greater. To clarify further, supposing the yellow were snookered by the black. If the player jumped over the black without touching it, that would be four away. If however the black were struck as the white jumped over it, that would be seven away as in a normal foul. If the white strikes a ball 'on' fairly, then jumps over ANOTHER ball, this is not a foul. It is also possible for the white to jump onto a cushion and drop back onto the table. This is not a foul, and, if the ball 'on' jumps onto a cushion, runs along it and drops into a pocket, the ball 'on' is scored as normal. If, of course, a ball had been jumped over before this, it would be a foul. If the cueball jumps onto a cushion and comes back on the table, this is not a foul, but if it stays on the cushion, a foul is called and the white is played from hand (i.e. the D). Hope this helps.

Question 25: Date: 27/01/00 09:40:29 GMT Standard Time From: kevin@shine99.freeserve.co.uk (Kevin Shine) To: snookermag@aol.com
Hi ! Could you please inform me of the correct ruling for re-spotting a colour when its own spot is already covered. Thank You.

Answer: Hello, Kevin! Thanks for your question. The rules governing respotting colours can seem complicated, but the main thing is to remember to use the HIGHEST AVAILABLE SPOT in order of the value of the colours. So, if the yellow spot is covered, the yellow should be replaced on the black spot. If this is covered, it would then go on the pink, or blue, brown or green spot, depending on which of these are available first. If all the spots are covered, the colour goes AS CLOSE AS POSSIBLE TO ITS OWN SPOT in a straight line towards the top (black) end of the table without touching another ball. This can lead to complications in the case of the pink ball, when there are often a number of reds immediately above the pink spot. In this case it is placed either amongst the reds if there is enough space, or above the reds, still in line, if there is a solid mass of reds. This reminds me of a famous incident in a professional match when referee John Williams (sorry, John!) dropped the pink ball into a cluster of reds, scattering them everywhere! He then had to try to replace them! If the space above the pink (or black) spot is completely covered, the first available space BELOW the spot would have to be used. I have never seen this happen. Hope this answers your question.

Question 26: Date: 02/02/00 14:27:09 GMT Standard Time From: gd1969@hotmail.com (gary d)
Hi I know that you have said that you cannot answer questions on individual players etc but I would like to know the history of a snooker cue which is printed with the words "Joe Davis - world record break 140". I have been trying to find out more but have not had much luck. Can you point me in the right direction?

Answer: Hi, Gary. Thanks for visiting Cornwall Snooker Scene and your question. On checking the history books, I find that Joe Davis beat the then World Champion, Walter Donaldson 49-42 at the Kelvin Hall, Glasgow in a challenge match in 1947, when he made a world record break of 140. Perhaps this is the break referred to on the cue. As to the cue itself, is it the original or an endorsed cue as sold today e.g. Ronnie O'Sullivan? If it's the original, it may be worth something!

Question 27: Date: 06/02/00 23:43:29 GMT Standard Time From: alexkirk@argyle.u-net.com (Alex Kirk)
Hi I am 53 and have just started playing snooker on a regular basis. I have played a bit of pool in my time. What would you suggest is the best tip diamater, mine is 9mm. regards ........Alex

Answer: Hi, Alex, Thanks for visiting Cornwall Snooker Scene and we hope you enjoyed it. The question of snooker tip size is a purely personal thing, and usually varies between 9mm and 10mm, although I have seen players swear by an 11mm tip - the cue end often resembles a barge pole! I personally use a 9mm tip, after playing for years with a 10mm. The transition usually takes two or three weeks to get used to the difference. I don't think it really matters as long as you are happy with the feel of the cue and the sighting of the balls. Many professionals now use an overhanging tip, reportedly a fashion started by John Parrott, and others have tips which look rather 'fluffy', where the tip threads are clearly visible. So it appears that the size and appearance of a tip are unimportant, if it does the job. What is important is the consistency, probably not too hard or too soft, as tips vary considerably from the same box! In Britain Elkmaster and Blue Diamond are by far the most commonly available and used tips. Hope this helps, but it is a purely personal answer - any other comments would be most welcome.

Question 28 (multiple): Date: 07/02/00 19:42:34 GMT Standard Time From: golfg60@FreeNet.co.uk (Anand Kumar) To: snookermag@aol.com
Hi there, I have accidentally come across your Webpage and it is very helpful & informative, please keep up the good work!! I Have 3 questions as I play quite alot with my friend & just made my highest break ever of 49, then next frame 36, 33, 32, 28, 29 each frame respectively, considering my highest break was 32, (made in 1989!!!) I could never beat it until yesterday 6/2/2000, I am a happy man!!! Sorry!! The questions are: (1) I played a foul the other day as I was going to pot a Red I missed but cannoned into Pink & potted it (FOUL), he was left seeing only about 13 reds bunched together full on but because he could not see either side of a single Red clearly is this a FREE ball?? (2) Again a foul situation, if say for example I am going for Yellow as nominated after potting a Red but am snookered on the Yellow, I miss the Yellow but hit the Brown then Pink then Black as far as I know the foul is the highest colour hit in that single shot, i.e. being the Black, my friends queried this and the Snooker Club Owner said the foul is for hitting the Brown which they thought being the case, who is right?? (3) I know I might be testing you as you may need to be there to explain this but I am sure you'll come up Triumphs (I think that's how you spell it???), what constitutes a Push Shot?? Anand

Answer: Thanks for your questions, Anand, and well done on beating that highest break. It's always rewarding to make progress in the game. In answer to your questions:
(1) This is a common occurrence in snooker early in the game, when the pack is closely bunched. The answer is that YOU CANNOT BE SNOOKERED BY ANOTHER RED i.e. if one red or more is covering another, you are assumed to be able to hit both sides of a red.
free ball? gifIn the example shown, the pink is obviously preventing the white from striking any of the reds closest to it on both sides, but if the two right hand reds were not there, it would be possible to strike both sides of the red on the top cushion. Therefore this is not a free ball, as the reds are not snookering balls.If you can see a full red's width, even if made up of more than one red, then it is not a free ball. It often happens that the pink is covering part of the pack, then you have to decide whether a full red's width is visible. If so, no free ball should be awarded

.
(2) When striking a ball or balls 'not on' i.e. missing a red and striking a colour, or missing one colour and striking another ball, the foul is the value of the first ball struck, or four, whichever is the greater. So, if on yellow you then strike brown, blue and pink, the foul is the value of the brown i.e. four points. If, of course, another ball or balls e.g. black is POTTED in the same stroke, then the penalty is the value of the highest ball potted i.e. seven for the black. I must of course qualify the above by saying that if, for example, you nominated black after a red and hit another ball, the foul would be seven irrespective of the ball wrongly struck, since black is now the ball 'on'.
(3) A push shot usually occurs when cue ball and object ball are very close together and, when playing the shot, the cue tip, the white and the object ball are all in contact simultaneously. This often results in the white and object ball following each other at the same speed across the table. An experienced player will always know when he/she has done a push shot, because some recoil effect or resistance is felt on the cue ball. If the balls are very close together and a thin, glancing blow is made off the side of the object ball, then this is usually not considered a push shot.
Hope this answers your questions.

Question 29: Date: 11/02/00 21:40:50 GMT Standard Time From: golfg60@FreeNet.co.uk (Anand Kumar) To: snookermag@aol.com
Hi Graham, I have come across another problem as my friend & I were playing recently, the question is: I had made a break (a small break at that) I went to pot the black in the bottom right hand pocket, the black wobbled in the jaws, we were both sure the black would drop, we waited to see if it would it did not, as my friend then positioned down to take his shot the black dropped in? Now does my break carry on, has my friend fouled or have I fouled which I can't see I could have done, this is a first for us. Thanks Anand

Answer: Hi, again, Anand! This sort of thing happens quite often, and is covered by the rules. The important thing is whether the ball drops in as a part of the original shot, or whether the shot is now considered to be 'dead'. If a ball reaches the pocket edge, balances there for a moment and then drops in, then the pot or foul, whichever is the case, applies. If however, after a 'reasonable time' (which is not defined) the ball drops into the pocket, it is then replaced on the edge of the pocket with no points or penalties awarded. So, if it is considered that the previous shot was completed, and the next player is about to play, the ball should be replaced as close to the edge of the pocket as possible. It has occasionally happened (and I have witnessed it) that a player has actually made a shot at a ball over a pocket, and the ball has fallen in before the cueball reaches it! In this case the balls would be replaced as close as possible to their original position, as in the 'miss' rule, but with no penalty. It would be a bit tricky if other balls had also been moved during the same shot! What would happen, for instance, if a player had made a shot, was about to knock in the black by accident for a foul, and the black dropped in? I assume that the shot would also be replayed with no penalty, although the referee might have the discretion to award a foul in this instance.

Question 30: Date: 16/02/00 07:18:29 GMT Standard Time From: mstnet01@tm.net.my (nair) To: snookermag@aol.com
Hi, I am from malaysia. I am really interested in getting the stephen hendry master class snooker magazine. I hunt for alot of places in malaysia but was in vain so I decided to order from your company. I need to have some information and hope that you are able to help. How much is the magazine "Stephen hendry masterclass" (please give answer in pound) and can I sent it you through bankdraft? If it is possible, Please give me your compnay name. The name that I should use it on the bankdraft. Hope that you couold reply as soon as possible. My e-mail address is : delicate23@hotmail.com Yours faithfully, leng

Answer: Hi, Leng. As far as I know, there is no Stephen Hendry Masterclass magazine, but there is a book by that name. To order it, you can use our Amazon page.
You can also see some BOOK REVIEWS on this site
Or go direct to the Stephen Hendry Masterclass link, and you will be able to order the book online direct from the suppliers. I think it is priced at £7.99 (UK pounds). There are also some other snooker books recommended on the Amazon page. By the way, if you are having trouble finding things on the Web, use our ALTAVISTA SEARCH page. Hope this helps.

Question 31: Date: 16/02/00 16:09:07 GMT Standard Time From: kev@kgarnham.fsnet.co.uk (Kevin Garnham) To: snookermag@aol.com
What happends if u pot a ball and the white ball jumps up and stops on top of the cushon what do u give?

Answer: Hi, Kev. For more information on this, read the answer to Question 24. However, the simple answer is: if the white ball stops on the cushion, it is a foul shot, value of the ball being played (e.g. seven for black) or the ball fouled, or four points, whichever is the higher. So, if playing a red, the pink is fouled, then the ball jumps up on the cushion, this is six points. The cueball is then replaced in the D (in hand) for the next player. If the cueball jumps onto a cushion, then comes back on the table, THIS IS NOT A FOUL SHOT unless you have jumped over a ball or made some other foul, like hitting the wrong ball.

Question 32: Date: 24/02/00 23:38:26 GMT Standard Time From: smorton@deltafaucet.on.ca (Morton, Stuart) To: snookermag@aol.com If there is only colored balls left on the table and the green ball is potted but the white ball follows in the same pocket does the green ball come up again ?

Answer: Hi, Stuart! Thanks for visiting Cornwall Snooker Scene and asking your question. I would be interested to know where you live and play snooker. The answer to your question is the same as for any foul involving a colour (other than a red). If a colour is fouled when potted, the colour is respotted, even if it is potted as the 'ball on'. Any other colours wrongly potted are also replaced on their own spots, or on the highest available spot if their own spot is occupied. Hope this answers your question.

Question 33: Date: 29/02/00 13:24:39 GMT Standard Time From: James.Walton@siemens.co.uk (James Walton)
Hi, I'm looking for information about snooker table care, cleaning and general maintenance. James

Answer: Hi, James, thanks for your question. Table care is pretty basic in general. You should use the standard brushes (one hard, one soft) available from billiards dealers, and a table iron from the same source. After brushing the cushions, brush the table (without scrubbing) from baulk end to black spot end (never the reverse). A board with a piece of baize attached can also be used, or a vacuum cleaner, provided you vacuum in the same direction. You can brush and iron as often as you like (iron heated for 25 min approx) but twice or three times a week is usually enough. You can keep a dust cloth over the table if you like when not in use. Cloths should be stretched periodically by an authorised fitter. Always brush and iron before a match. Please come back with any other queries.

Question 34: Date: 05/03/00 From : Steve Kirk E-mail address : skirk@staterail.nsw.gov.au Sydney Australia :
I have a question about the rules - I saw the Q & A page but couldn't see where to post the question! Anyway is it legal to wear a glove whilst playing? I am secretary of a Sydney competition and one of the players insists on wearing a glove - other players say this is an unfair advantage - IE - No sticking due to sweat etc - Any ideas? Email the answer please but I have book marked this site - tops!

Answer: Hi, Steve, Glad you liked the site! In answer to your question: the wearing of a glove or gloves is totally legal, or must be, because I remember a professional (Nigel Gilbert, I think) wearing one on his bridge hand in tournaments a few years ago. I have asked for more info on this from the 147 list. Why don't you join and take part in discussions? http://www.onelist.com - then subscribe to 147. Will let you know if I get any more info on this. By the way, sorry about the lack of a contact on this page - the question page was split into two and I forgot to put a mail button on this page. Have now added one at the top.

Question 35: Date: 08/03/00 14:20:01 GMT Standard Time From: seahnet@pacific.net.sg (Linfeng)
Hi, I am a new player i often do a break of 1-6(highest is about 20). I don't own a cue thus been using those clubs' cue. Does changing cue affect your play? I have problem hitting the cue ball correctly too. Could U give me a illustration of how to side-spin a ball cause it never seems to go straight for me. And one thing about kissing ball is it true that ball can move when U want to take that shot? Then what if the ball kissed is the only ball on? eg. pink. Can a good player use both hand to take shot?? Linfeng

Answer: Hi, Linfeng! Thanks for your questions, although I am not sure exactly what you mean by some of them.
(1) Yes, you can certainly benefit from getting your own cue. Most club players have their own. You need to try some in a shop to make sure that you find one that suits you. Using a club cue is always a risky business, as most of them are not very good, to say the least. (2) On the question of sidespin, I would recommend you to learn to strike the ball dead-centre until you can hit the ball accurately. The more sidespin you use, the more problems you will probably have. (3) I'm not sure if you mean 'touching ball', but I will assume that's what you mean. If you are touching a ball, you must play away from it without moving it, and if you move it, it is a foul. If you are touching the ball on, then by playing away it is not a foul, as you are considered to have played it correctly. If you are touching a colour after a red, it is always advisable to nominate, as you can play either the colour you are touching, or any other colour. (4) Most players play with both hands - one on the cue and the other as the bridge on the table! This is not tennis! Hope this helps.

Question 36: Date: 16/03/00 10:24:32 GMT Standard Time From: niallkelly@student.dit.ie (Niall Kelly)
Is there such a rule as the split ball rule which involves hitting balls of a different colour simultaneously?

Answer: Hi, Niall, Thanks for your question. I am not certain if this is specifically covered in the rules, but I know that if you hit two balls of different colours simultaneously, it is a foul shot. There should be no 'benefit of the doubt' applied if it is not obvious which ball was struck first. Therefore, if red is the ball 'on' and red and black are struck simultaneously, it is a foul, penalty seven points, and so on, depending on the value of the higher ball. Hope this answers your question.

Page 3 of Questions

Top of page

Go to first page of Questions

Return to Home Page